Baked Apple “Donuts”

ERLA

I really wanted to make something with apples in it this month.  I found this recipe because it did not involve yeast (yes…I said it).  I have not worked much with yeast but I have found a second recipe that I am going to try this month and will post the results….so any way.  I wanted to make a donut but did not want to fry them…so here it goes.

  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/3 c. shortening
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 1/2 c. finely diced apples

Directions:

  • Sift first 5 ingredients
  • Add 1/3 cup shortening; mix until mixture is coarse. Set aside.
  • Dry ingredients

    Dry ingredients

  • In another bowl combine egg, milk and diced apples.
  • Add to dry ingredients just until blended.
  • Donut mixture

    Donut mixture

  • Spoon into 12 greased muffin cups.
  • As you can see I doubled the recipe

    As you can see I doubled the recipe

  • Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.
  • While donuts are baking, melt 1/2 cup butter. Set aside.
  • Combine 1/2 cup sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon.
  • Getting ready for dipping!

    Getting ready for dipping!

  • When donuts are done, dip in butter and then in sugar mixture.
  • The finished product!

    The finished product!

I doubled the recipe from the start – above is the original recipe that yields 12.

I would call these apple muffins rather than donuts but they are delish! 

I just went to the store and bought yeast for the next doughnut recipe…stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Breakfast pastry, Erla, muffins. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Apple “Donuts”

  1. Neve says:

    Oh yum! Erla, those look delicious! ..and it’s the perfect time of year for apple donuts.

    Remember those parties where we ate donuts off a string? You need to remember all those old party games for Mo.

  2. Gene says:

    yummy goodness! They are in my kitchen but i have not gotten to them yet! Going to try them tonight (if jim left me any!)

Leave a Reply

