Mint Chocolate Pot de Crème

Neve:

When I created the list of projects for the year, I made May “Mint month” in honour of the Kentucky Derby. That said, I thought everyone would make mint juleps this month and I see now that none of us did!

I didn’t know what I was going to make so I started researching mint desserts and suddenly everything started popping up chocolate mint.  Why didn’t I think of this myself?!  I LOVE chocolate/mint combination.

I found a lovely little recipe for Mint Chocolate Pot de Crème on a blog that I seem to be coming across again and again, Hungry Cravings. Her photos and little pots look much better than mine, but mine sure did taste delicious!

Mint Chocolate Pot de Crème

Serves 8

1 ½ cups heavy cream
1 ½ cups milk
6 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped or scant 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
2 large eggs
4 large egg yolks
¼ cup sugar
Pinch kosher salt
½ teaspoon peppermint extract

Preheat the oven to 300˚F. Combine the cream and milk in a small saucepan and heat to a simmer. Place the chocolate into a medium bowl, add the hot cream mixture, and whisk until smooth. Whisk together the eggs, yolks, sugar, and salt in a medium bowl. Continue whisking while adding the hot cream mixture in a thin stream. Strain through a fine mesh sieve. Stir in the peppermint extract and skim off any foam from the surface. Divide the mixture among 8 ramekins and place them into a roasting pan. Add enough hot water to the roasting pan to come most of the way up the sides of the ramekins and bake for 26 to 28 minutes, or until just set. Remove from the water bath and let cool to room temperature. Refrigerate for 3 to 4 hours, or until firm.

You can use fresh mint to infuse the cream instead of extract if you want. You can tell that the pot de crème are done when they jiggle like gelatin. They may be baked a day or two in advance and kept covered with plastic wrap in the refrigerator. Serve with lightly sweetened whipped cream, if desired. For plain chocolate pot de crème, substitute vanilla extract for the peppermint extract.

Notes:

*If you don’t have ramekins you can use some bowls, but don’t fill them too full or they won’t set properly.

*The recipe only calls for 1/2 tsp of extract which I didn’t think was enough, so I would add a full tsp next time.

*I left my camera in a friends purse during a night out so I had to use my Blackberry for this project!

This entry was posted in May, Mint, Neve and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

