Low-fat Lemon Squares

Neve:

There are so many things you can make with lemon and I did think about getting adventurous and making something new, but if you know me, then you know I’m very boring and predictable.

I was in the US visiting my family when this post was due. I popped into the supermarket with my mom to pick up a few things that I can’t find in London like Us Weekly and graham crackers. Yes, that’s exactly what I bought. For about five days I was snacking on graham crackers (they are SO good!) and I finally got down to my last packet and decided I would use them as the crust in my lemon squares.

Whether this was a good decision or not, it still allowed me to scoff down another whole package of graham crackers. Have you had graham crackers? No? Pick some up next time you are in the US and you’ll know what I’m on about. Anyone in the US will definitely have had graham crackers, they are an American staple.

With the sangria flowing, I whipped up this recipe:

Crust:
Crumble one to 1.5 packets of graham crackers into a small glass baking dish. Drop a few bits of butter over the crumbled crackers.

Filling:
3 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
2 tsp. lemon zest
1/3 cup lemon juice
3 tbsp. flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 325 F.  Whisk eggs on medium until foamy. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Pour over the graham cracker crust. Bake until set, about 20 – 25 minutes.

Let cool & dust with confectionary sugar before serving.

I don’t know if it was the low-fat, the graham cracker crust or the sangria, but these came out, well, not-so-good.  They tasted great, but they were too soft to cut into squares so I just ate them straight from the baking dish. YUM!

I don’t recommend this recipe unless your guests have had at least three glasses if sangria in them. p.s. I could have sworn I took more photos!

This entry was posted in June, Lemon, Neve and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

