German Chocolate Cupcakes

Neve:

German Chocolate Cupcakes

German Chocolate Cupcakes

I’ve decided that, in addition to my monthly Alterego assignments, I’m going to start posting my other baking adventures as well. Why? Because I bake a lot and it seems a waste to not post about them. Simples!

On that note, last week’s adventure was German Chocolate Cupcakes…

German Chocolate Cupcakes

German Chocolate Cupcakes

Although the end result looked really good and I received nothing but compliments on these cupcakes, I had my reservations. So much so that after making about 24 cupcakes, I dumped the rest of the batter into a cake tin and then ended up throwing most of the cake away.  I say ‘most’ because I plunged a glass through the cake four times to get four additional ‘cupcakes’ before tossing the remaining bits of cake into the bin.

I doubled the recipe so it was a lot to work with and, in hindsight, I suspect that I over-beat the batter making it a bit dense and chewy. The funny thing is that I rarely eat my baked goods, but instead bring them in to work to feed the team. Because I wasn’t certain if these cupcakes were any good, I ended up eating about four of them while trying to make my decision. In the end, they were edible, but not my best work.

I found the recipe via Food Buzz at Susi’s Kitchen & Baking Adventures (that’s my educated guess at the translation.) By the way, the icing is DELICIOUS.

German Chocolate Cupcakes

German Chocolate Cupcakes

German Chocolate Cupcakes
makes 24

Ingredients:

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for tins
2 cups cake flour (not self-rising), sifted, plus more for tins
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/3 cups sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup buttermilk
5 ounces semisweet chocolate, melted and cooled

Coconut-Pecan Frosting (recipe to follow)
Chocolate Ganache, optional (recipe to follow)

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Brush stand muffin tins with butter; dust with cake flour, tapping out excess. whisk together cake flour, baking soda, and salt.

With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Beat in vanilla. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of buttermilk, and beating until combined after each. Beat in chocolate until combined.

Divide batter evenly among prepared cups, filling each three-quarters full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in centers comes out clean, 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool 10 minutes Run a small offset spatula of knife around the edges to loosen; turn out cupcakes onto racks and let cool completely. Cupcakes can stored up to 3 days at room temperature in airtight containers.

To finish, spread frosting on top of each cupcake. Drizzle with ganache (if desired).

Coconut-Pecan Frosting
(makes about 4 cups)

Ingredients:
3 large egg yolks
1 can (12 ounces) evaporated milk
1 1/4 cups packed light-brown sugar
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces, room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 package (7 ounces) sweetened flaked coconut
1 1/2 cups (6 ounces) pecans, toasted and coarsely chopped

Preparation:
Heat egg yolks, evaporated milk, brown sugar, and butter in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thick, about 10 minutes (it should reach the consistency of sour cream). Strain through a fine sieve into a bowl.

Stir vanilla, salt, coconut, and pecans into frosting. Let cool completely, stirring occasionally, Frosting can be refrigerated up to 1 day in an airtight container. Before using, bring to room temperature and stir with a flexible spatula until smooth.

Chocolate Ganache

3 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, melted
3-5 tablespoons heavy cream

Stir heavy cream by the tablespoon into the melted chocolate until combined and it reaches desired “drizzle” consistency. Use immediately.

p.s. I convert all my recipes into grams and measure everything with my kitchen scale – it beats measuring cups hands down!

This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Neve and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

