Erla’s Tangled August – Purple

So I had so many different ideas when I came up with the color categories this year……what I would use to make things a certain color and so far….I have not used one of them.  I  have had a few cakes to decorate this year, so they have ended up being my color of the month….the same goes for this one…..

For those that follow me on Facebook, you know I had a bit of a hard time with this one – I just could not get the tower to stand up.

The base is made from chocolate cupcakes that I frosted into a field with different color flowers.

Getting started!
It took a few different attempts for the tower – I should have just went with my first idea, but I didn’t….
 

Attempt # 1 - cake and cupcakes topped with an ice cream cone

Well that only lasted so long….even after I braced it – it still fell over
 

Tried rice krispie treats next (kinda looks a little phallic) - but it fell apart

No matter how long I tried to chill it, the top would not stay together.
 
I finally went back to my first idea of using solid chocolate – I have a mold  of a light house that I used for my sister-in-laws wedding cake.
 
I had a bit of trouble with this because it was a warm day and just as I finished loading everything into the car, I realized that I locked the keys in the house.
 
After being rescued by Gene’s husband (mine was at work), I noticed that the chocolate tower was starting to melt.  We fixed that and now we were off to the birthday party.
 

All done!Happy Birthday Anna!

 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Erla and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Erla’s Tangled August – Purple

  1. site says:

    Whenever I originally left a comment I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now each and every time a remark is added I receive four emails with the identical comment.

Leave a Reply

