Erla’s Red Velvet Cupcakes (February)

As soon as I saw this recipe, I knew that I had to try it!

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups grated beets
  • 1 Cup of Agave Nectar
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Grapeseed Oil
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Almond Extract
  • 1/2 Cup Cacao Powder
  1. In a medium saucepan, heat the beets and agave (I used honey) to a boil, then cover
  2. Reduce to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes, until the beets are soft
  3. Transfer beet-agave (or honey) mixture to a Vitamix (I used my blender) and puree on highest speed until smooth
  4. Blend in eggs, oil (I used olive oil), vanilla, almond extract, and cacao until thoroughly incorporated
  5. Pour batter into a well greased 9-inch cake pan (I used muffin pan)
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean
  7. Cool and serve

Thank you to Elana’s Pantry for this great recipe!  Wonder if people would know that they are made with beets if I don’t tell them??

Now the photos!

Beets and honey in the blender

 

Cakes going into the oven

 

Now to figure out what to frost them with!

This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Erla, February, muffins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

